Last night, I was able to get out into Richmond and enjoy some time away from work and the books. Taking it all in, I paid attention to everything that was going on around me, searching for inspiration (including my TWO walks home from a friend’s place  – got home the first time and realized I had forgotten my keys…we’ll leave it at saying I got a ton of exercise in – and thank the ‘Good Gods’ for Pandora radio and protection from being mugged).

Anyway, I came across a poster that depicted the sign above (I cropped the rest of the poster out). I was intrigued by the comedic aspects to such a simple (and well-known) visual and the tag line “Peace To All The Beasts.” As I looked at this poster, my eye kept going back to this one image and the “Jack Links Beef Jerky – Messin’ With Sasquatch” campaign came to mind.

 

 

I thought what a great idea it would be to counteract the “messin'” part with making ‘peace’ with Sasquatch/helping the guy out (the guy just wants something to eat).

The issue I am dealing with right now is: who would benefit more from a campaign like this? Sasquatch is already connected to Jack Links. If a competing Beef Jerky producer wanted to air a campaign like this (Peace To The Beast), would they only be helping Jack Links gain more market share or would it attract new customers their way (as intended)?

If Jack Links runs this campaign, what message would they be sending about their brand? Maybe they could keep the comedic concept running with an interesting character (maybe a grandmother type figure) interfering with the ‘messin,’ take Sasquatch under her arm (rock-a-bye-baby…) and feed him a beef jerky. With perfect casting, this could make for a great/memorable visual. This is a good way to extend an already decent idea concept. A new angle.

The logo (above) alone would make great use in a viral setting. T-shirts would make for a great seller. I also see this campaign working very well on Super Bowl night.

But the question still remains: who would this work better for? Jacks Links or a competing brand (would this create free advertising for Jacks Links due to the initial idea/attachment being associated with them?)?